Phone (419) 784-5136 | Address: 1933 E 2nd Street Defiance, Ohio 43512

POLICY:

NOCAC staff will follow the outlined process to obtain/maintain school bus driving endorsement.

 

PROCEDURES:

Permit:

  1. Transportation/Safety Specialist (TSS) will provide the potential CDL driver a welcome packet at the time of hire, which includes instructions on how to obtain the CDL training booklet, a list of BMV test sites and sample permit tests with questions and answers.
  2. Staff will go to local BMV to obtain a CDL training booklet after hire.
    1. Permit study/test taking will be done off work time (unless otherwise approved by Supervisor).
  3. Staff are required to pass three tests at local BMV (with 45 days)
    1. General knowledge
    2. School Bus without Air Brakes/Class C
    3. Passenger
  4. Staff will submit for reimbursement of permit, by issuing a copy of the receipt and copy of permit to their supervisor who will complete the purchase order process.

 

Training:

  1. Staff will sign the CDL Reimbursement Form at the first training session with the TSS.  This form is maintained with the TSS.
    1. NOCAC fiscal department will notify TSS upon driver resignation.
    2. Fiscal will adjust drivers remaining check with proper reimbursements amount if necessary.
  2. Staff will work with Supervisor and TSS to schedule time for mandatory minimum 12 hours of “On Bus Training” with a certified On Board Instructor (OBI).
    1. Successfully complete the T-9 Training Form.
    2. Training hours may be increased as needed by OBI or Child Development Director.
  3. Staff will successfully complete the four day Bus Driver Pre-Service Training class as required by ODE Pupil and Transportation Rules.

 

Licensure:

  1. Upon completion of all required training, the TSS (or Supervisor when TSS not available) will take staff to testing center to obtain CDL.
    1. An Out of Area form will be completed for OBI and staff member if testing location is outside of our service area.
  2. Staff will submit receipts for CDL license for reimbursement with a copy of new Drivers License, to their supervisor.  A Purchase Order will be completed and submitted to the office for reimbursement.
  3. Staff’s T-9 will be entered by the Health & Safety Manager/Transportation Supervisor into ODE SAFE account for approval and issuance of certificate.
  4. New Driver will ride with an experienced driver with students on board then drive with an experienced driver with students on board upon issuance of certificate from ODE.
  5. New CDL driver must be observed driving a detailed route with children on board by OBI or experienced driver.
  6. The certificate is valid for 6 years.

 

For Re-Certification (every 6 years):

  1. Staff will attend mandatory 3 day Bus Driver Pre-Service class as required by ODE.
  2. Staff will be required to complete a Pre-trip test and Driving Evaluation with an OBI without children on board.
    1. Including unloading/loading, emergency pullover, turn around and railroads.
  3. ODE will issue an Ohio Preservice School Bus Driver Training Program Certificate upon completion valid for six years.

 

Forms and Additional Guidance:

This policy complies with the following

Head Start Program Performance Standard:   1303.72 (b) (c) (d)
ODJFS Child Care Manual:   5101:2-12-14(c)
CACFP Regulation:    
Caring for Our Children:    
Other Sources:   OAPT 3301.83-06

 

Effective Date:   1/6/20 Revision Date:    
Approved By Policy Council:   1/6/20 Revision Approved By Policy Council: